Oriel was awarded a High Commendation in the ‘Future Healthcare Design’ category at last night’s European Healthcare Design Awards ceremony.

Oriel, designed by AECOM, Penoyre & Prasad and White Arkitekter, is a joint initiative between Moorfields Eye Hospital, UCL Institute of Ophthalmology and Moorfields Eye Charity, bringing together world-leading eye care, research and education under one roof. A radical approach to the integration of sight related care, research and education, the project’s aims include driving innovation and speeding up the translation of research findings into treatment.  The vision is to create an environment for innovation to flourish, inspiring improvements in people’s sight.

At the heart of the project is the belief that ‘People’s Sight Matters’ and Oriel puts people at the heart of the vision. The new building will be a place where people’s eye health is improved through the incubation and application of new knowledge and genuine engagement and participation of patients in the research.

Oriel is designed for flexibility, change and collaboration. It embraces the principles of an ‘adaptive building’; a flexible rig to accommodate a diverse range of activities that can flex and change over time.

You can read more about this project here.

The European Healthcare Design Awards celebrate and recognise professional and research excellence in the design of healthcare environments both in Europe and around the world.

Organised by SALUS Global Knowledge Exchange and Architects for Health, the awards are an integral feature of the annual European Healthcare Design Congress, contributing towards the development of knowledge and standards in the design of healthcare environments and infrastructure globally.

Recipients of these prestigious awards have demonstrated outstanding vision, leadership and knowledge in the design, development and implementation of projects that have positively transformed the delivery and experience of healthcare for the patients and communities they serve.

See the full list of winners here.